Wyoming State Reading Council

reading cowboy

Young Authors


Please see newly revised guidelines for specifics.
It is NOT the intent of the Wyoming State Reading Council to discourage any students, teachers, parents or school districts from participating in this worthwhile endeavor or suggest that local contests be discontinued if a community or school district does not have a local reading council. The Young Authors competition is funded by Wyoming State Reading Council, which has a fiscal and ethical responsibility to enforce the guidelines established for participation. If you are interested in establishing a local reading council (Wyoming State Reading Council Affiliate) in your community, please contact WSRC President Pam Jackson or any other board member listed within our website.

Fiction and Nonfiction Rubrics have been updated to reflect the following grade level bands: K-1, 2-5, 6-12.  Poetry remains the same.   Of particular note, please review the presentation category as illustrations are now scored.


Winner's List 2015

This list is 14 pages, please be sure after you open to scroll down. Listed from K-12th.


Wyoming Guidelines

Entry Form

Coordinator Master Entry Form & Master Entry List

Judging Rubric K-1 Fiction/NonFiction

Judging Rubric 2-5 Fiction/NonFiction

Judging Rubric 6-12 Fiction/NonFiction

Judging Rubric K-12 Poetry